Christmas waste collections

 

Christmas waste collections will be running but with revisions to the day of collection as listed below:

Your usual collection day Your revised collection day
Monday 19 December to Friday 23 December No change
Monday 26 December Tuesday 27 December
Tuesday 27 December Wednesday 28 December
Wednesday 28 December Thursday 29 December
Thursday 29 December Friday 30 December
Friday 30 December Saturday 31 December
Monday 2 January Tuesday 3 January
Tuesday 3 January Wednesday 4 January
Wednesday 4 January Thursday 5 January
Thursday 5 January Friday 6 January
Friday 6 January Saturday 7 January
Monday 9 January Usual collections resume

 In the two weeks after Christmas, all recycling, rubbish and clinical collections are one day later, including Friday pick-ups on Saturday, and a Monday collection on Bank Holiday Tuesday 27 December. During that fortnight, there are no garden waste collections. Usual services resume from Monday 9 January 2017.

 If you have a missed collection over the Christmas period they can be reported on-line at www.southsomerset.gov.uk/online-services.

 

Long-awaited 20mph zone arrives in Bruton

Long-awaited 20mph zone arrives in Bruton

The narrow town centre streets are now a 20mph zone, with crews putting in the signage over the next few days.

First mooted over 20 years ago, many residents have been calling for a reduced limit for some time. Two years ago the Town Council agreed to fund its installation if there was a demand. Following consultations including a public meeting in 2015 it was decided to go ahead; Somerset County Council did a further round of consultation earlier this year, and the proposal was overwhelmingly approved.

To emphasise the reasons for reducing the limit, the Town Council held a competition with Bruton Primary School, supported by the Bruton Area Street Improvement Initiative, for local children to design pictures to be added to the signs. We hope you agree they look great!